Powell River Academy of Music
Scholarship Winners

Scholarship Winners

Twenty-two young musicians perform for scholarships at the annual Powell River Academy of Music Scholarship Competition April 28, 2018

The Powell River Academy of Music holds an annual scholarship competition for students 18 and under at the Academy. The scholarship money is generously donated by patrons and teachers. The scholarships assist students in their future studies.

The Academy congratulates all the students for their excellent performances.

Piano performers included John Carlson, Gabriel Dickson, Sophie Ferguson, Ace Harry, Jaid Kirzakow, Annie Lian, Annika Mulder, Jan Swanson, Ilse Uhlmann, and Jing Zhong.

Scholarship recipient for the Daryl and Doreen Smith Scholarship awarded in Junior Piano (12 years and under) is Jaid Kirzakow with John Carlson runner-up.

Scholarship recipient for the Lillian Dickson Memorial Scholarship awarded in Senior Piano (13 to 18 years) is Annie Lian and Second Place Scholarship is Annika Mulder with Ace Harry runner-up.

Junior Piano
Senior Piano

Voice performers included Elektra Atkinson, Lauren Huguet, Lydia Parsons, Chelsea Riddle, Tyler Riddle, and Jan Swanson.

Scholarship recipient for the Mr. & Mrs. Richard Hibberd Scholarship awarded in Junior Voice (12 years and under) is Lydia Parsons.

Scholarship recipient for the Don James Scholarship awarded in Senior Voice (13 to 18 years) is Jan Swanson.

Senior Voice

Instrumental performers included Jade Hryniewiecka, Maya Laramee, Ben Leahy-McHugh, Kya Moore, and Ying Zhong.

Scholarship recipient for the Mr. & Mrs. Derry Simpson Scholarship awarded in Junior Instrumental (12 years and under) is Maya Laramee.

Scholarship recipient for the Carriere Scholarship awarded in Senior Instrumental (13 to 18 years) is Ying Zhong.

Junior Instrumental

Senior Instrumental